Food Safety Recognition Program

This page is part of the Guidance Document Repository (GDR).

Looking for related documents?
Search for related documents in the Guidance Document Repository

The Food Safety Recognition Program (FSRP) includes the On-Farm Food Safety Recognition Program and the Post-Farm Food Safety Recognition Program, which provides government recognition of on-farm and post-farm food safety systems developed and implemented by national industry organizations in order to:

  • enhance food safety;
  • maintain the confidence of Canadian consumers; and
  • facilitate market access.

The FSRP is led by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) with the participation of the provincial and territorial governments.

Recognition acknowledges that a food safety program has been developed in line with a systematic and preventive approach to food safety based on international accepted standards (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points principles); that the program conforms to federal, provincial and territorial legislation, policy and protocols; and that a Food Safety Management System has been implemented in an effective and consistent manner.

By providing a recognition framework that supports national, auditable, industry-led, HACCP-based food safety programs, the CFIA can support its goal of safeguarding Canada's food supply along the whole food continuum.

For more information

National food industry organizations from the on-farm or post-farm sectors that are not regulated by the CFIA can choose to submit their food safety systems to the FSRP for technical review.

For more information, refer to Questions and Answers – Food Safety Recognition Program or contact:

Boubacar Sidibe
National Manager
Food Safety Recognition Program

Links to the industry organizations currently involved in the FSRP

Date modified: